06/06/2022

MCAA-NA Science Slam 2022


  • START DATE
    10/06/2022
  • EVENT TYPE
    Competition
  • LOCATION
    United States, (Virtual)
  • END DATE
    10/06/2022
  • ORGANISER
    MCAA-NA and EURAXESS North America

 

Please note that due to logistical issues, the event has been canceled. We are keeping this page up for reference and to allow to those who click a link to this post to see the original description and know that it has now been canceled. We regret that it cannot be carried out and thank you for your understanding. We will explore the possibility of hosting a science slam later in the year; if you want to be notified if and when one is organized, please send us an email.

 


 

The Marie Curie Alumni Association - North America Chapter's Science Slam is back! This year again, the Chapter is organizing the most fun event of the year for our researchers, the MCAA-NA Science Slam 2022. The competition is open to everyone! That's right, any researcher can participate.

 

The event will be held virtually on Friday, June 10th, 2022 at 2:00 PM ET (11:00 AM PT / 8:00 PM CEST). Convert to your local time zone here.

 

If you want to be one of our slammers and have the chance to win prizes for sharing your research in a funny way in three minutes, please register below and leave information regarding your three-minute pitch's title. The voucher prize totals are below, listed in euros (and may be given in their USD or CAD equivalent exchange rate depending on location and fulfillment logistics).

 

First Prize: €500

Second prize: €350

Third prize: €250

 

All slammers (not the attendees) will receive a €50 participation prize, regardless!

 

Registration will be accepted until Wednesday, June 8th, 2022 by 11:59 PM PST (2:59 AM ET / 8:59 AM CEST the following day). Participation will be capped at 20 slammers, and admission will be on a first-come, first-served basis, so register right away and share with anyone you think is a good communicator!

 

Note that we have now reached capacity for slammers. Any additional registrations for presenters will be added to the standby/waitlist and otherwise treated as attendee registrations.

 

The Science Slam will be immediately followed by a one-hour virtual networking event, moderated by the Chair of the MCAA North America Chapter, Catarina Ferreira, to give a brief overview of the work done this year, hear your thoughts on priorities that the Chapter should focus on over the next term (starting in the Fall 2022) and meet and connect with your peers.

 

Audience attendees and science slammers (presenters making their three-minute pitch) can register below using the respective buttons:

 

Register now (for attendees)

Register now (waitlist for presenters)

 

To streamline the process, we ask that presenters register via both forms, with the first one gaining them entry to the virtual meeting and the second one confirming their pitch to the MCAA-NA staff (as noted above, we are at capacity for presenters and are leaving the slammer registration page up as a waitlist). Attendees interested in watching the event but not presenting can simply register via the first button only.

 

MCAA-NA Science Slam 2022 flyer